Happy UKYA Day!

Today is UKYA day. A day created by Lucy Powrie (QueenofContempory) to celebrate all the brilliant Young Adult books brought out by British Authors. She has a full schedule for today on her blog so I recommend checking it out and joining in. I try to read as much UKYA as possible but I’ve been lacking recently. So I’ve put together a list of UKYA novels that I want to read in the future.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I realise that this book is ridiculously famous. I have done my usual thing of ignoring the hype around a series when it is released and then never finding time to read it once I have realised my mistake.I have no idea what this about and would prefer to keep it that way. I enjoy having a mysterious ending to a book so I’m trying to keep as far away from spoilers as I can.

Trouble by Non Pratt

I love books that deal with hard hitting subjects and this one is about teenage pregnancy. I’m known to binge watch a lot of 16 and Pregnant so it will be interesting to read about it instead. I guess it gives a nice change from sitting in front of the TV all afternoon as well. Everyone I know who has read this has enjoyed it and I can’t wait to pick it up.

The Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett

This isn’t specifically YA but I know a lot of my friends are reading it now so I am including it. My only problem with starting this series is whether I will ever finish them! I have no idea what this series is about, I just know it is fantasy. I’ve been recommended these books so many times it is most likely that I will enjoy every page of them.

His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman

Okay, so technically I have read these before. I was about 10 and can’t remember a thing about them I’d love to read them again and rediscover the universe. It’s another case of actually finding the time. I seem to remember it took me about 3 months to read these originally.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I’ve been recommended this by various people and whilst I don’t normally like books about the war, I think I will give this a go. It looks intriguing and may fit in with my AS History course.

Of course there are too many UKYA books to name and these are just the few that I haven’t read yet. What are your favourite UKYA books?

Erin xx

Leave a Reply

