Review: Endgame: The Calling by James Frey

Title: Endgame: The Calling

endgameAuthor: James Frey

Publication: October 7th 2014 by HarperTeen

Rating: ★★

Source: NetGalley in exchange for a fair review

I have to be honest, I didn’t like this book. I enjoyed the preview that I read and decided to download the rest of the story. However, it was not brilliant. I’ve never really liked the work of this author, It’s just never gripped me. And I have real problems with the way he treats his employee’s. I decided to give it a try none the less.

Play.
Survive.
Solve.
People of Earth.
Endgame has begun.

I couldn’t find a short blurb that summed up the book, so I will try my best. There are 12 ancient lines, these each have a ‘player’ whose job it is to figure out the puzzles of the aliens that created the earth when the time comes. This is Endgame. They are meant to kill each other and find 3 keys in order to be able to save their blood line when the end of the world comes. The company that created the book has teemed up with production studios and other companies to create a fully inclusive experience. There is an app coming out, as well as a possible movie.

I though this book was very similar in premise to the Hunger Games, which in turn is a rip off of Battle Royale. So nothing new. I don’t really have anything against teens killing each other, that is a main part of YA after all, but when it is almost exactly the same as two other things you start to wonder how original the idea was anyway.

I despise romance in novels if it is unnecessary. There was a lot of it in this book. To be fair some of them were insightful. We read from the perspective of various characters and some of their stories were very interesting. In particular, the young mother who was trying her best to protect her family. BUT, I really hated all of the other love stories. I think that a real life teenager would be able to keep their hormones in check when they are doing something that they have been trained to do for their whole lives.

The writing was mediocre. I wouldn’t say it grabbed me, but I still managed to finish the book. I liked the different perspectives of the characters, and the fact that they were incredibly diverse. My particular favourite was Chiyoko, a mute girl, who was so incredibly bad ass it was hard to find a fault in her.

Overall, I wouldn’t waste your money on this book. Maybe if it goes on sale or you fond it in a charity shop you should give it a go. But otherwise, don’t bother.

Erin xx

Leave a Reply

