Review: Lets Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

lets get lost

Book: Let’s get Lost

Author: Adi Alsaid

Published: July 29th 2014 by Harlequin Teen

Rating: ★★★★

I have severe writers block at the moment so I apologize if this makes little to no sense. I’m feeling extremely uninspired and I have about 10 reviews that I need to write before I go back to school.

I was sent an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair review, however I have been on holiday so am a little late in putting up the review. Oopsy. Better late then never though.

I was kind of worried about reading this book, the reviews online told me it was very much like Paper Towns by John Green. I really disliked the ending of Paper Towns and as this book seemed to be similar, I was kind of judge mental. Still, I requested it anyway because I kind of wanted to prove myself wrong. I am glad that I did.

The book is split into five sections. Each section focuses on a different character. The main character, Leila, is the thing that ties them all together. I really like the idea of writing a book like this because It gives you a lot of versatility in the types of stories that you can tell. However, I almost put this book down during the first section. The first chapter is a love at first sight story, which I basically detest. If you are like me, don’t be disheartened. The rest of the book more than makes up for it with the funny and sometimes illegal things that Leila does with her new friends.

My slight problem with the book was that the character development for Leila was slightly lacking. I’m pretty sure the author meant for her to be mysterious and alluring but I think it made her quite boring. When her back story is revealed it all kind of makes sense but I still think hints need to be dropped throughout the story.

I love road trip stories and I think this book perfectly captured the journey of self discovery whilst making it funny and entertaining. I was practically ready to leap into a car and go on my own adventure by the end of it.

I would recommend this book to people who enjoy self discovery and mystery. It’s uplifting and sad at the same time and I think those books are the best kind. Go check it out here.

Erin xx

 

One thought on “Review: Lets Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Leave a Reply

