London Adventures #3

LFCC and Rainbow Rowell

I’m known for being a bit of a nerd. I don’t deny it. One of the things I enjoy the most is visiting conventions. We have a bi-annual convention near us in Milton Keynes that I visit regularly. However, I recently visited London Film and Comic Con. This one was extra special because as well as being a comic convention, it was also the UK’s first Young Adult Literature convention. (Think BEA on a slightly smaller scale.)

Myself and a few of my friends dressed up for the event. I wouldn’t call it cosplay exactly because the costumes were kind of casual. However, I did have an excellent time. I’d heard the horror stories from the Saturday of people waiting for up to 6 hours in the queue outside with no shade. It was luckily quite different for us. We were inside within 5 minutes as we had pre-booked tickets. It was certainly busy, but not so busy that I was crushed.

Chilling with Anna

Chilling with Anna

We didn’t actually spend that much time in the book section, mainly because there was so much to look at. I extremely enjoyed looking at all the cosplayers, especially the girls dressed up as Daenerys. The stalls were interesting and the people running the stalls were especially nice. Shout out to the man who had a mermaid costume already in his cupboard and wore it because it was the coolest thing he owned. He had also covered himself in body glitter.

We ended up going home at about 5 o’clock because it was quite busy and my feet hurt so bad. The best thing about the day was getting to spend time with people who I have met at various fan events before that I wouldn’t know other wise. Conventions have a huge sense of community and that’s one of the reasons I enjoy going.

The Tuesday afterwards brought round more fun. I was lucky enough to bag tickets to a Rainbow Rowell book signing. Rainbow writes bestselling novels, including Fangirl and Eleanor & Park.  We went to London around lunch time so we could squeeze in some last-minute comic shopping and then made our way to Waterstones Piccadilly.

Rainbow and Myself

Rainbow and Myself

We got there about an hour early, so we bought a copy of Landline and got front row seats. We also made friends with a lovely girl called Lily who was there by herself. Rainbow was being interviewed by a fellow blogger and self-confessed Fangirl Bim AdewunmiBoth ladies were extremely funny and I enjoyed my self immensely.

We then got the chance to get our booked signed. I got my copies of Landline and Fangirl personalised. Rainbow was very lovely, she complimented me on my hair and I got to take a picture with her.

Over all I had a great few days, especially since the book signing cost under 5 pounds. I can’t wait until the next convention! What are some of your favorite nerdy things to do?

Erin

Follow me on Bloglovin and Twitter

One thought on “London Adventures #3

  1. Oi stranger 😉 I have tagged you in The Liebster Award Tag, that will be published tomorrow at 4:00pm UK time, which I’d love you to take a look at and join in with at highstreetspy.wordpress.com. Thank you. Maisie xxx

Leave a Reply

