London Adventures #2

Richard III and McBusted

One of my favorite things about going up to London is the large amount of activities that are available to do. I particularly enjoy going to the theater. I have been trying to understand and enjoy Shakespeare a little bit more recently and have found the best way to do this is to visit productions of various plays. I was lucky enough to bag front row tickets to Richard III with Martin Freeman.

I was a little bit apprehensive about going. The play was a history and I was worried it was going to be incredibly dry. I was totally wrong. Martin Freeman played Richard III with a kind of psychopathic personality and the character was hilarious in an evil sort of way. It was an extremely bloody play, with the front couple of rows being given spare shirts to put on in case of spatters. I was safe from it, however my brother got a little bit on his trousers. If you are into Shakespeare and can find tickets (because they are extremely popular) I really urge you to go.

Front Row, HELL YEAH!

Front Row, HELL YEAH!

The day after, my family traveled up to London again to attend the British Summer Time Festival in Hyde Park. It was extremely hot when we got there, although by the evening it was pouring with rain.

That didn’t stop me from having a good time. The bands playing were interesting. I’m not particularly a fan of The Backstreet Boys or The Vamps, but I enjoyed watching them. Scouting for Girls made me feel like I was back in middle school when they were really popular and I was quite surprised that I actually remembered most of the words to their songs.

Fireworks!

Fireworks!

The best part was definitely McBusted. I can still remember the day that Busted announced they were splitting up, so this was a childhood dream come true. I think I might have slightly damaged my vocal cords with all the singing that I was doing. We had an excellent view of the main stage, although we were a little far back. The biggest surprise was when McBusted came running through the crowd and played on a smaller stage, right in front of where we were standing!

I was exhausted by the end of the day. My dad had managed to catch one of the T-Shirts that had been fired into the crowd (advantages of having a 6 foot 6 Father), so I went home extremely happy.

I definitely didn’t let the rain get me down and the whole experience turned into one of the best days of my life. Seeing Richard III made the weekend extra special. What are your favourite things to do with your family?

Erin

Follow me on Bloglovin and Twitter

One thought on “London Adventures #2

  1. Pingback: London Adventures #2 | Tinseltown Times

Leave a Reply

