Review: Every Second Counts by Sophie McKenzie

every-second-counts

I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley. I was quite excited when I saw that I was approved for this one, mostly because I have read a few of Sophie McKenzie’s books before and quite enjoyed them. I hadn’t read the first book in the series, so I had to buy that and it did not go as expected. I did not enjoy it nearly as much as I should have. You can find my full review here.

I wanted to start out by saying that this book was better than the first one. Not by much, but it was a noticeable difference. I thought the characters were a little bit more developed and they seemed to recognize that there was a world in trouble outside of their little family.

The love story was not as annoying either. I hate it when the love story over shadows the plot line and in the first book it certainly did. However, it seems to have backed off a little. It is still slightly cheesey but it wasn’t the main focus. You could see how much the characters cared about each other and that was enough.

It was very fast paced and not completely predictable. I should probably mention that this book is for a younger target audience than me, so I wasn’t surprised about some of the plot developments. It was nice to be able to read it and be a little bit shocked at some things that happened.

This book could probably be best described as a thriller although I think it lacked in excitement. The book was fast paced, although it kind of bored me a little. How many more times were the main characters going to trust the wrong people and fall into a trap?

The epilogue also was a problem. It was very happily ever after. Not that I’m completely against this, but sometimes it is nice if all 6 of the young characters haven’t paired off with each other. They had just taken down a corrupt government.

Overall I would give this book 3 stars. If you’ve read the first book, then read the second. It might restore your faith a little bit. But otherwise, don’t bother picking it up.

Erin

Leave a Reply

