Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman

solitaire

Recently I finished reading Solitaire by Alice Oseman. I received an ARC from the lovely people over at Harper Collins and could not wait to start. The book is released on the 31st of July and I urge you all to pick up a copy.

  I could not put this book down. I read it in a day, possibly not best for my revision, but it was totally worth it. This is 19 year old Alice Oseman’s debut novel and she has done brilliantly. Alice has a great career ahead of her.

Solitaire is a YA book, centred on the life of a teenage girl called Tori, at a sixth form in England. (A sixth form is further education for people aged 16-18.) Tori is antisocial, she only enjoys watching movies and blogging. This means her life is extremely boring, not that she sees anything wrong with that. This all changes when the mysterious group ‘Solitaire’ and the possibly more mysterious Michael Holden enter her life.

The characters in this story are brilliant. Tori is very real and extremely relatable to every day teenagers. There is nothing fake about her personality, and the author is definitely not trying too hard to relate to her readers.

Charlie, Tori’s brother, is another example. Charlie has a boyfriend, but it isn’t made a big deal of. He has more important aspects of his life that Oseman has decided to focus on instead. I think I’ve found an OTP in Charlie and Nick, they are so freaking adorable.

There is also a wide range of people and their issues. It deals with mental health in a really down to earth manner, which is what I really like about this book. All of the issues that are brought up are discussed very well. Whilst the main story line might be a little unrealistic (that’s not a bad thing, it’s a really cool idea) the problems explored in the book are very real.

I think the plot twists in this book are what make it fantastic. I had so many ideas about who the people behind Solitaire were, and none of them were right. If you do read this books, beware of red herrings.

I honestly think that this book will be a best seller. The writing is fantastic and you can really feel the passion that was put into creating it. Oseman has a talent and it is showcased extremely well. That is why I am giving this book 4 stars out of 5.

Erin

Follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin

I’m also attending LFCC and YALC this weekend, so if you see me feel free to say hi!

Leave a Reply

