Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

toptentuesday2

I am finally back! The last week or so has been extremely stressful because of exams, so I haven’t been able to blog. However, I am now free so I should be able to post quite regularly. This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is about our favorite and not so favorite book cover trends. I’m going to do 5 of each.

Favourite Trends:

  • Cartoons are one of my favorite types of book covers. The little drawings help give the book an interesting atmosphere. If you don’t like imagining an character based on the cover, these help to give and impression but not dictate an opinion.
  • I really like dark romances that have black covers. They all look amazing on my shelf together.
  • I like books in a series that have similar but not identical covers. When they are together they really blend in well and look like a collection.
  • I like special editions of books where they are bound in fabrics or have gilded letters. I think it makes it so much more special to read.
  • I’m kind of obsessed with books that have minimalist covers. I like how they are not cluttered, yet give a really good impression of the story.

Not so Favorite Trends:

  • I hate it immensely when books change their covers during the middle of a series. I still have the first editions of all the books, however they look horrible as a series.
  • On another rant about changing books in the middle of a series, I don’t like it when they change the size of the book. I know this is not necessarily to do with the cover, but how can I fit them all on one shelf if book 6 is twice the height of book 1.
  • I’m not paricually a fan of having other authors quotes on the front of book. I think it’s okay to have them on the back cover because I like to know opinions. However, I think a front cover should be a celebration of the author that wrote the book. Not the one who is a little bit more famous.
  • I’m not really a fan of movie covers. I think we might all agree on this one. There are some great ones, although the majority of the time they ruin the look of it.
  • I also really dislike it when Stock Photos are used to create the cover of the book. Even if you’re self publishing, it wouldn’t be that much to hire someone to help. After all, you want to sell that book and a good cover will help. Originality is the key when trying to sell a product.

This turned into a little bit of a rant, oopsy. I have a few reviews coming up which I am really excited about. What are your favorite and not so favorite book cover trends?

Erin

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

  1. I’m okay with movie-tie-in editions, but I wouldn’t necessarily pick them if I was going to buy! I like the original. And I’m also a big fan of simplistic covers…or ones with cool typography. x) Covers changing during the middle of a series bugs me SO much! I hate it when my series don’t match.
    My TTT!

    • I only like the movie tie ins if they have extra info in the back or something. Sometimes they are so expensive just because they have an actors face on them. Thanks for reading!

  2. I’m also not a big fan of the author quotes up front. They especially make me laugh when it’s an author I don’t like. And the movie covers – I get that it’s a trend to make movie fans buy the book, but I don’t want the actors’ faces on my book covers, thank you very much.

  3. I definitely agree regarding series covers. I love when the books in a series look like they belong together and get so incredibly frustrated when they change the covers in the middle. In fact, there are some series I haven’t picked up because I know they changed the covers and I don’t know that I can handle having them on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

