Review: Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

branded

Today’s review is of Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki. I enjoyed this book immensely and finished it in a few hours, although the fact that I was procrastinating doing revision probably had something to do with that as well. I’m normally wary of novels with two authors as I haven’t particularly gotten on with them in the past. (See Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan.) However, the combined forces of Abi and Missy really work well in this book. The plot is extremely strong and it’s difficult to notice that two people had a hand in writing it.

I’m a sucker for forbidden love and this book certainly has it’s fair share. It is set in a world where sinners are sent to ‘The Hole’. A sort of city closed in by walls. Once they are there sinners are given jobs that they must do, apart from that they are free to live their lives. The only problem is the guards. They watch the sinners day and night to make sure that no illegal behaviour happens, especially not fraternisation between a guard and a sinner. The love story is kind of obvious, but that doesn’t make it any less exciting.

“You’ve got to be kidding me! Do they have a sex radar or something?” – Cole

The main character is called Lexi, she’s from the high society and is wrongly accused of a crime. I really liked the character of Lexi, probably more than I like Katniss. This is because she is very realistic in the way she deals with the accusation. She isn’t a super hero who takes everything in her stride, she’s a typical teenage girl who is feeling scared, lonely and betrayed. She has a great character development arc and I can see her potential as a bit of a legend in the YA genre.

As well as an awesome female lead, there is a dashing guard who is kind, funny and extremely attractive. If you’re not convinced by that, he owns a dog. The dog itself is a brilliant character, the connection between the two of them is extremely strong.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story

The love story is not the only thing great about the story. This book is filled with fighting and certainly lots of blood. The pace was very fast and I enjoyed the plot twists. It was sad and uplifting. It was also extremely funny in some places, which was nice as books such as Divergent seemed to get a little dry.

I would recommend reading this book to anyone, not just young adults. *cough* because everyone enjoys young adult books and needn’t feel embarrassed *cough* If you email the authors at abimissybooks@gmail.com you can buy a signed copy! I’m giving this book 4 stars and I am so excited for the next in the series.

Erin

One thought on “Review: Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

  1. Pingback: Author Interview: Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki | Serenity Books

Leave a Reply

