Flash Back Friday: The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

fbf

My Flash Back Friday is The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. I remember this book being given to me by my cousins after they were done with it. I placed it on my bookshelf and didn’t look at it for about a year. Big mistake. When I finally picked it up again I could’t put it down. I had a serious book hangover after I finished this one.

When orphaned young Maria Merryweather arrives at Moonacre Manor, she feels as if she’s entered Paradise. Her new guardian, her uncle Sir Benjamin, is kind and funny; the Manor itself feels like home right away; and every person and animal she meets is like an old friend. But there is something incredibly sad beneath all of this beauty and comfort—a tragedy that happened years ago, shadowing Moonacre Manor and the town around it—and Maria is determined to learn about it, change it, and give her own life story a happy ending. But what can one solitary girl do?

I expected this book to be similar to The Secret Garden, but I was mistaken. Goudge invented a beautiful fantasy world full of magical creatures. The story is led by a feisty heroine who you can’t help but fall in love with.

the little white horse'

I do have a few issues with the book. It is a very typical fairytale, in which everyone lives happily ever after. No that this is necessarily a problem, it’s just that I prefer a book with some dramatic plot twists. The book does take a few sharp turns, although reading it now I can see they are quite obvious.

I would recommend this book for younger children and people who don’t particularly want a hard read. It’s nice to sit outside and read it in the garden for an afternoon. I’m going to give it 4 stars.

Erin

Flash Back Friday is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies

One thought on “Flash Back Friday: The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

Leave a Reply

