Review: The Fear Trials by Lindsay Cummings

 the fear trials

This is the prequel novella for the long awaited book The Murder Complex. The actual book is out next week and this glimpse into the life of Meadow and he family has left me thirsty for more. I love a good dystopian novel, especially one that draws you in almost immediately, and I wasn’t left disappointed. Normally I’m kind of wary when reading a prequel first because I enjoy getting to know the characters, but Lindsay managed to give little insights into Meadows thoughts and feelings without giving too much away.

Meadow Woodson’s father calls it The Fear Trials, and it is a rite of passage in their family. Meadow is up against her brother Koi. The Fear Trials will both harden her and make her brave. If Meadow wins, she will get a weapon of her own and the right to leave the Woodsons’ houseboat without her father or mother at her side. Set in the violent, complex, and mysterious world of The Murder Complex, and introducing Meadow Woodson—a teenage girl trained to survive no matter what the cost—and her family, who are together for the last time on their houseboat in the Florida Everglades.

I don’t really have much else to say apart from the fact that I desperately need to read the actual novel. I’ll be downloading it on the 10th of June when it is finally published. I would definitely recommend reading it as it has so much potential to become the next YA sensation. Cummings writes with an ease that makes it seem like she is already an established author. I can’t wait to read more of her books. I am giving this 5 stars.

Erin

One thought on “Review: The Fear Trials by Lindsay Cummings

  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: The Murder Complex | Serenity Books

Leave a Reply

